Steve and Laurie Augustino Instructional Media Center: Online Databases

Online Academic Edition provides over 100,000 new and revised articles, with contributions from more than 100 Nobel laureates, numerous heads of state, Pulitzer Prize winners, leading professors, and experts in all fields of human endeavor.

Britannica School is an encyclopedia where you can search for articles on a variety of topics.

ImageQuest provides access to more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.

Britannica Escolar Online provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials.

Enciclopedia Moderna is a Spanish language encyclopedia that has many articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary.

Britannica Online Japan offers quick access to reliable, comprehensive information, with more than 150,000 articles and 30,000 images. Online Japan is an essential resource for conducting thorough research for both native Japanese speakers and high school students learning Japanese.

Universalis is a valuable resource for all French language students. There is access to more than 38,000 articles, including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems of our times; 25,000 media items; a world atlas with over 1400 maps; an integrated dictionary with 120,000 entries; and a guide to selected Web sites.

Universalis Junior Online, created in collaboration with American and French education experts, provides a fresh look at a wide array of topics such as history, geography, science, and technology. In this engaging learning environment, French-language students will be challenged with progressively more sophisticated vocabulary.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged is the largest, most comprehensive American dictionary currently available in print or online.

InfoBase Index is a comprehensive, multipurpose database covering scholarly literature from all over the world.

Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

With more than 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception, this database offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.

Search Gaithersburg High School's books, eBooks, and digital resources in one easy place with Destiny Discover!

Login is: your ID@mcpsmd.org // password is your network password.

Teaching Books has author interviews, book summaries and other information about books and authors.

Choose from different subjects, genres and levels to find just the right book. And every title is supported by audio recorded by professional voice-over artists!

Scienceflix includes videos, articles, images, and eBooks on a variety of science topics.

(Links to an external site.) TumbleBook Library has animated “talking” books. You can read a book on your own or have it read to you.

MANGO is a language learning program containing over 30 world languages to support the learning of conversational and formal language.

Use Noodletools to create citations, notecards, outlines, and papers for your research projects.

Sailor is a service of Maryland's public libraries that provides broadband Internet access for public libraries, schools and local government in Maryland, and an extensive collection of research databases for the use of Maryland public library customers.

SIRS Discoverer is a database of articles and images from newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.

SIRS Issue Researcher helps middle and high school students with research on current issues.

Culturegrams has information on 182 countries and cultures, including history, land and climate, religion, personal appearance, gestures, language, government, and family life.

MCPL A-Z Databases has magazine articles, encyclopedias and eBooks to support your research and personal interests.

**You will need a library card to gain access to the database**

**Go to the passwords doc at the top of the page to learn how to get your own library card online**