Skip to main content

Steve and Laurie Augustino Instructional Media Center: Black Eyed Susan

The Black Eyed Susan Book Award

The Black-Eyed Susan Reading Program (BES) is a student choice award for the state of Maryland. The BES Award honors outstanding nominees comprising of 10 chapter books for grades 6-9, 10 chapter books for HS, and 10 graphic novels. Students in the state of Maryland vote for the winning book in each category. Students actually pick the winners!

Participation in this reading program is voluntary and fun!  After reading at least 3 of the nominated books in a category, a student is eligible to cast one vote for the book he or she considers to be the most outstanding in that category.  Votes from across the state are sent to the Black-eyed Susan committee and tallied to determine the winner in each grade-level category.  The winning authors and illustrators receive a pewter plate engraved with the year and the Black-eyed Susan Award logo.  Authors, illustrators, and publishers recognize the Black-eyed Susan Book Award as an honor bestowed by Maryland students.  

Click on the image for more information.

Click on the image for more information.

Click on the form to submit a book log.

Click on the images below to read more about the books in each category.


Have suggestions for this page? Please fill out our feedback form or email Ms. J. Nelson .